Lemonade for your face

My skin has been a bit dull as of late.  So I decided to visit a spa, otherwise known as my kitchen, to get a quick pick me up. I’ve used this scrub many times before and it is a great body and face exfoliator.

I used the following:

  • 4 tbs organic cane sugar
  • 1 tbs lemon juice (I prefer fresh lemon juice, but hey)
  • 10-15 drops of kukui oil (Any oil that doesn’t break you out should work. I’ve also used jojoba oil in the past)
  • a clean empty container with a lid (I’m using an empty 2oz Soapwalla deodorant container. If you don’t have an empty Soapwalla deodorant container, I suggest you buy the deodorant first b/c you will fall in love with the deodorant and then you will have an empty container once it’s all used up.)

I mixed everything up in the container, stirring with a chopstick. When the mixture sits, the oil/liquid will sit on top and the sugar will settle.

So when I use it, I just make sure to kind of dig in and mix it up with my fingers.

I use this on my face after I wash it in the shower. It leaves my face feeling smooth, refreshed and moisturized due to the oil. This stuff also works great on my body though I tend to just use it for dry spots (read: elbows and feet). I’ve made this scrub many times tweaking it depending on my skin. If my skin is parched I add more oil, if it’s really flaky I might add more sugar to up the scrubbability, and if I feel like being able to eat my face scrub, I leave out the oil altogether.

What home DIY stuff do you use?

12 thoughts on “Lemonade for your face

  1. The Opinioness of the World

    This sounds great! I don’t make any homemade masks or anything but I JUST started using organic jojoba oil on my face as a moisturizer. In just 2 weeks, my skin is soft, dewey, glowing and my acne is clearing up. Where has this been all my life???

    Reply
  2. eviliciouz

    I’m in the process of getting rid my non vegan make up and this tip will come in handy. Thanks for posting!

    Reply
  3. jess

    mmm, this sounds lovely! i’ve made my own salt scrubs before, but never a sugar one – looking forward to giving it a try. my favourite diy beauty secret is raw apple cider vinegar: i condition my hair with it everyday!

    Reply
  4. Richgail Enriquez

    Sweet, thanks!! I’m such a sucker for DIY tips especially for the face. I used to put oatmeal on my face but that could get messy. Oh well. And yup, I also got the Soapwalla deodorant and I LOVE it! I think I might buy a whole box. Btw, I nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award”. Cheers :)

    Reply
  5. Pingback: So fresh and so clean, clean «

  6. Pingback: Carrier Oils and DIY Body Scrubs | Polished Copper

Leave a Reply

