Vegangrams

It’s the second installment of Vegangrams. Most of these were taken since my summer par-tay started (read: much needed and much too short break after an academic year that chewed me up and spit me out after swishing me around for a while).

So, according to my phone and in no particular order:

Awesome summer break perk…lunch specials! Like the lunch special at Harmony Vegetarian which is the perfect amount of food. I always get the Szechuan string beans when I’m there because its delicious.

 Almond milk, pea protein powder and whatever fresh or frozen fruit on hand (and sometimes coconut water) in the Vitamix equals after-gym muscle food.

Green beans and tofu peanut satay over kelp noodles. The peanut satay is just a blend of peanut butter, coconut milk, red curry paste and a touch of sweetener.

Noochy stuffed baked artichokes with bread crumbs. I posted this recipe a loooong time ago here. This time I cut the amount of Earth balance by half and it turned out just as good.

Inspired by the post from belalu, I made my own summer salad. I never measure stuff when I make this (I just taste it with my mouth as I go), but here’s what’s in it: quinoa, black beans, corn, handful chopped cilantro, tomatoes (seeded), Vidalia onions, avocado and the dressing (olive oil, lime juice, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper).

Are you ready? Apparently, I live in a hotbed of outbreak shall the zombie apocalypse occur.  Good thing I’ve been working out (see #1 in this post) and am prepared to haul myself out of the city into safe zones all while chopping zombie heads off Michonne-style.

Chia seed chocolate almond milk. I eats it.

Oh, donuts.Why must I love you so? Revolution Doughnuts opened up and most of their donuts (doughnuts?) are vegan. They have some fried ones and some baked, cakey ones. They are all good. My mouth likes them all. (Pictured: almond, cinnamon sugar and chocolate glazed).

Chocolate raspberry mousse slice from Cafe Sunflower. No need to elaborate.

Amazing coconut curry that N made that has canned seitan (more on that in a future post), bell pepper, potatoes and mushrooms. This was actually taken on one of my last days at work, so instead of working while I ate, I was reading Game of Thrones and taking pics on my phone.

Ever since I saw the raw vegan ceviche over at feast your eyes on my veg, I’ve been making my own variants. This one has sea kelp noodles mixed with hearts of palm, avocados, peaches, tomatoes, cilantro, jalepeno, lime juice, salt and pepper.

Catching up on my monthlies. I discovered a new one (Mind MGMT) that seems promising.

1/2 limeade, 1/2 sparkling water with ice and blueberries poured in a jar to up the hipster factor. Vegan Kat made a better homemade version of this. Mine is store-bought limeade.

Vegan BBQ plate special over at Burnt Fork that includes the bbq tofu, kale (sooo delicious b/c it’s sweet and candied), fries, bread and pickles.

Oh, the strange things I find at the Dekalb Farmer’s Market. Can somebody please explain this label to me?

My obsession with ackee continues. I discovered that these babies are expensive ($12-$14 at regular stores), so I  stocked up on a few cans at the Dekalb Farmer’s Market where they are half the price. This is just ackee mixed with chopped onions, tomatoes, black salt (the same sulphury one used to make the eggless salad) and pepper.

Dinner at Soul Veg Two. I got the egg salad pita with onion rings, N got the mac-n-cheese and the bbq cauliflower.

I hoard yarn. This is only part of my stash. A summer goal is to catch up on knitting projects.

Breakfast biscuit with bacon and cheese at Dulce Vegan. Looks like I had some of their awesome tea too.

Happy Friday!

PS. We have two dogs.  Nikko will be featured in more future posts, b/c I think she’s getting jealous of Miles’ blog time.

21 thoughts on “Vegangrams

      1. pennyparsnip

        It’s held at Fort Greene Park, just off DeKalb Avenue. My favorite in Brooklyn because it has the best selection of the smaller markets without being a zoo like the biggest ones.

        Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      I also used kelp noodles when I made raw pad thai (click here). Its basically noodles made of sea kelp. I found mine at a health food store and my local co-op. They are great for raw dishes. I thrown them in salads too. They don’t have much of a taste…kinda oceany. The texture is crunchy and fun though.

      Reply
  1. pennyparsnip

    Oh, and the label! One of the images that represents the city of Rome is of the two brothers, Remus and Romulus, nursing from the mother wolf. I don’t remember the whole mythology, but they were raised by wolves and Romulus founded the city of Rome. You can see creepy statues of children drinking wolf’s milk all over Rome.

    Reply
  2. Starr

    Oh wow! It looks like you have so many amazing veg restaurants around you… I’m jealous *incert cute, pouty face here*

    Reply
  3. vegancharlie

    your pictures always look amazing! I want to have the adventures you have lol looks fun and yummy you dogs are so cute I always love the pictures you have of them. Im also super jealous of all the veggie places you have to go to. oh if only I had that many near me lol

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Its nice. It is a blend of cotton and acrylic which makes it a little easier to knit with than just cotton b/c there is some give in the yarn. I like to use it for kid stuff.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

