Cheese is my weakness

Just like kale, cashews will always have a special place in my kitchen.

As of late, I’ve been experimenting with making cashew cheese without rejuvelac, and have found a recipe I like. This came from the fabulous Mighty Vegan. The recipe is simple, it just takes planning ahead because you have to soak the cashews, then blend it up, let it sit, bake and then chill. Most of the work (as the Mighty Vegan points out) is “inactive” and the time commitment is sooooo worth it!

I let mine sit in the fridge for a full 24 hours to firm up after baking and then rolled one in dill and the other in a combo of paprika and pepper. I also found that mine had the best consistency if I let it sit in the fridge for another couple hours after rolling them around in the herbs. This is a sampling of what I’ve been eating it on.

Seriously, this is an incredibly tasty sliceable and spreadable cheese! I have no more adjectives to describe how awesome and amazing this is. This will be one of those recipes I make over and over again. Thanks Mighty Vegan!

31 thoughts on “Cheese is my weakness

  1. The Vegan Kat

    Yum the cashew cheese looks great! I’ve never tried making my own vegan cheese before, but it would be nice to have cheese and crackers back as a vegan option! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. vegancharlie

    cheese & rice…. I LOVE this post. It looks so good and to top it all off its vegan! I have died and went to some kind of quasicheesy heaven of the sorts… I wish I had a better blender!….this wont stop my attempt to try this though

    Reply
  3. Richgail Enriquez

    Wow! Do you take orders? hehe..I’d love to try this out so I wouldn’t have to rely on daiya so much.

    Reply
  4. Starr

    I have never tried cashew cheese, it always seems expensive when I’ve seen it in the store. This looks so easy though, I’ll have to give it a try.

    Reply
  5. Rachel in Veganland

    OOh! Gotta love those cashew cheeses!!! I’m very used to the raw variety, but I’m not so used to cooking them. I’d love to try some! Don’t you wish you could send along some in the mail! Don’t you wish food could travel in the mail perfectly?!?!

    Reply
  6. Hannah (BitterSweet)

    Oh man, I can plow through cashews like nobody’s business. Cashew cheese rules! This recipe sounds a lot like my standard approach, but if you ask me, white miso is key to that slightly funky flavor. Wouldn’t make a batch without it.

    Reply
  7. goodstorysarah

    I’m starting the process of making this today! I was reading the instructions and I saw this part…”Unwrap cheese, and scrape into 7-inch-long log on cheesecloth.”

    What does scrape mean? Scrap along the cheese with a fork? Or poke the cheese with a fork? What did you do for that step?

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      That bit of the instructions confused me too. But at that stage, my cheese was sticking to the cheesecloth so I literally scraped it off the old cheesecloth into a new one. It’s a bit wasteful of the cheesecloth and I wondered what would have happened if I had just left it in and baked it *shrugs*.

      Reply
        1. luminousvegans Post author

          Yes, the cheese seemed soft for me during the whole process, even after baking. Don’t try to unwrap it from the cheesecloth after baking b/c it will stick to the cloth and it’s still really soft even after baking. The recipe says to chill it after baking but doesn’t specify for how long. I found that I had to leave mine in the fridge for at LEAST 24 hours after baking. After it’s chilled long enough, the cheesecloth will remove pretty easily (though it might stick here and there) and it will be firmer….I rolled mine in spices and then chilled it for a couple of more hours uncovered and it was the best firmness after all that. It softens as it sits out in room temp and becomes more like spreadable cheese, but then refirms after chilling again.

          Reply
  8. Pingback: Happy Sunday! « Goodstorysarah.

  9. feastyoureyesonmyveg

    I always keep a stash of cashews now, they are the most amazing thing! This cheese looks so good, I’ll have to try it out one of these days. I actually was going to make cheese from the mac and cheese sauce I make and purchased the agar. Just haven’t gotten to it.

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Cucumber and Dill Salad with Cashew Cheese « Turning VEGANese

  11. Pingback: Happy Birthday Dough Bakery! |

Leave a Reply

