Jackfruit meets BBQ, deliciousness ensues

Inspired by the use of jackfruit over at the taste space and by the Midwest vaygun, I decided to try out this vegan delicacy. This is our simple interpretation of the BBQ pulled pork wraps from the taste space.

1. I drained 2 cans (20 oz each) of jackfruit and cut off the hard center parts while keeping the shreddy ends. Be sure to get unripe jackfruit in brine. After I cut out the hard center pieces, this is what it looked like.

 2.  N simmered the jackfruit in a pan full of store-bought BBQ sauce until the jackfruit didn’t have any jackfruity taste anymore (~20 minutes). Eat a raw jackfruit from the can before dousing with BBQ sauce to determine what a “jackfruity taste” is. The jackfruit should also be shredded up at this point.

3. Then, N smushed it all out on a baking pan and baked it at 400 degrees until it got a little crispy and dried out.

4. This was a tag-team meal, so while N took care of the jackfruit business, I got down with a side dish.

I dumped a can of drained black soy beans, a drained can of corn, some chopped tomatoes (about two), a handful of chopped cilantro, 1 chopped mango, 1/2 diced red onion, a drizzle or two of olive oil, a teaspoon or two each of chili powder, cumin and garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste and some generous splashes of lime juice and then mixed it all up.

I didn’t measure anything b/c this was a throw together meal, but it turns out cookingwithlightbulbs made something similar, so check out that blog if you want more precision.

5. We then got out our vegan hoagies and toasted them in the still warm oven for a bit.

6. Then we stuffed our faces with these. Get in mah belly!!

Quick, easy and oh so finger-licking good…just the way I like it. My meals. I’m talking about my meals.

33 thoughts on “Jackfruit meets BBQ, deliciousness ensues

  1. midwestvaygun

    thanks for the shout-out! we just served some to carnivores via tacos/tamales and got great reviews :)

    Reply
    1. luminousvegans Post author

      Asian stores! Get the green jackfruit not the ripe yellow stuff. Our local asian market has a really helpful store clerk and she helps me find all sorts of various goodies like green jackfruit or glutinous rice flour, etc…

      Reply
  2. Vegan Flower

    BBQ jackfruit is so good! It looks like you made it perfectly. I only had it once at a restaurant in Madison, but really liked it.

    Reply
  3. Kinenchen

    I see jackfruit at my local markets and now I have a reason t throw myself on the grenade… er… jackfruit. THANK YOU!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: BBQ Sandwiches | feast your eyes on my veg

  5. Pingback: Barbecue Jackfruit Sandwiches with Coleslaw | The Peaceful Pantry

  6. Pingback: Vegan Kare Kare 2.0 | Turning Veganese

  7. Pingback: Georgia Peach-y Slaw |

Leave a Reply

